Comics are so much fun : Marvel Acronyms:

29 Dec

As Marvelites know , Marvel is choke full of some amazing acronyms… I present to you a compiled list of as many as I could think of..

Did I miss any?

A.R.M.O.R. – Altered-Reality Monitoring and Operational Response

S.T.R.I.K.E. – Special Tactical Response for International Key Emergencies

S.W.O.R.D. – Sentient World Observation and Response Department

A.I.M.  – Advanced Idea Mechanics

S.A.F.E. – Strategic Action For Emergencies

H.A.T.E. – Highest Anti Terrorism Effort

S.P.I.N. – Super-Power-Inhibiting Nanobots

M.O.D.O.C. – Mental Organism Designed Only For Calculation/Conquest

M.O.D.O.K – Mental Organism Designed Only For Killing

M.O.D.O.G. – Mobile Organism Designed Only for Genocide
S.H.I.E.L.D – Strategic Hazard Intervention, Espionage Logistics Directorate
 (originally Supreme Headquarters, International Espionage, Law-Enforcement Division)
  (In the movies it’s: Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division.)

G.R.A.M.P.A –  Global Reaction Agency for Mysterious Paranormal Activity.

S.H.E – Super Heroes of Europe.

S.T.A.R.S –  Superhuman Tactical Activities Response Squad.

O*N*E –  Office of National Emergency.

B.A.D. Girls, Inc – Black Mamba, Asp & Diamondback.

S.O.D.A.M – Specialized Organism Designed for Aggressive Maneuvers.

later changed to M.O.D.A.M.: Mental Organism Designed for Aggressive Maneuvers.

R.C.X –  Resources Control eXecutive.

D.U.C.K –  Department of Unknown and Covert Knowledge.

W.H.O –  Weird Happenings Organization.

H.E.R.B.I.E –  Humanoid Experimental Robot, B-type, Integrated Electronics.

And the last one, which is our favourite:

U.L.T.I.M.A.T.U.M. Underground Liberated Totally Integrated Mobile Army To Unite Mankind

Which one is yours?

How many of them did you know? Are you a true Marvelite?

3 Responses to “Comics are so much fun : Marvel Acronyms:”

  1. Anonymous April 23, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    this post is very usefull thx!

  2. Anonymous April 28, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Lots of quite good reading here, thanks! I was seeking on yahoo when I found your publish, I’m going to add your feed to Google Reader, I look forward to far more from you.

  3. Anonymous April 28, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Lots of good reading here, thanks! I had been checking on yahoo when I discovered your post, I’m going to add your feed to Google Reader, I look forward to additional from you.

Leave a Reply

