The Adventures of Karen Ross (Part 3)

15 May
I turned quickly, but again there was nothing. My heart was racing to the point where I could feel each beat throughout my entire body. “There’s nothing there. Stop scaring yourself like this,” I muttered to myself. I closed my eyes taking in a couple deep breaths. I had a heart condition as it was and the last thing I needed was to scare myself into a heart attack. I had never had one before, but I knew that I did not want to find out what it was like. I opened my eyes to see an empty stage save for the flats and few props kicking around. I was losing my mind; that’s all there was to it. I went back to my painting shaking off the goose bumps running up and down my spine. The bush I was working on was looking pretty good close up, but the test was how it was going to look to the audience. I took a couple of uneven steps backwards when suddenly I bumped into something. I swallowed hard as I felt with the back of my head and shoulder blades that it was metal with an intricate design on it. I slowly looked down to see big black boots on either side of my blue and white sneakers. Very slowly I turned around to see if I was hallucinating or not. I found myself facing the man that I had seen that morning. I dropped the brush and paint can lid which made a loud clang on the stage floor. He scoffed at me. I subtly glanced at my crutches against the wall. They were no more than five feet away from me. I knew I wouldn’t be able to beat him, but I was prepared to give him a bruising. I looked back at him and saw that he was following my gaze to my crutches. He smiled as he looked at me again.
“Locating the nearest weapon, very nice” he boomed in a deep menacing voice.

“I know that I can’t beat you, but I will give you something to remember,” I said.

“You know, I didn’t believe them when they told me that it was you. I mean this pathetic weak frame and nothing out of the ordinary so to speak, but that little move just now was a redeeming quality,” he said talking with his hands.

“You are making no sense. Although if you are a hallucination then you’re making perfect sense,”

“Oh no Karen Ross, I can assure you that I am very real,” he said getting in my face.

His eyes were burning into me. I could feel him within my very soul searching for something, but as for what I had no idea. He kept leaning in and I kept leaning back. Eventually I lost my balance and fell on the floor. He stood up to his full height and scoffed at me again. Ok, hallucination or not he was annoying.

“Who are you and what do you want with me?” I asked sitting up.

“You know who I am. You just don’t remember,”

“I know I saw you this morning,”

“I would really hate to think that all those years of you ready mythology were for nothing,” he sighed annoyed.

“Oh you are kidding,” I said with a tone like I had heard a joke that wasn’t funny.

“Kidding isn’t in my nature,” he said flatly.

“Okay then, well this has been a fun little trip around the bend, but I have sets to paint,” I said getting up.

“I AM NOT A JOKE AND I WILL NOT BE IGNORED!” he boomed with a tone of thunder as he grabbed my shirt pushing me up against a wall.

I struggled against his grip, but it was of no use. He raised his arm bringing me eye to eye with him. What was it about his eyes? They were fire red and made me feel so weak and insignificant. His stare wasn’t breaking and his grip wasn’t loosening at all. I stared back into those red eyes and felt things I had never felt before. I felt destruction, power, strength, devastation, human sacrifice, and eternity. I was lost in his eyes and had no will or desire to break the stare. I suddenly saw images of what I was feeling. I saw weapons raining death and destruction on unsuspecting people. Mothers grabbed their children running in fear from fire that was falling from the sky. I saw bravery as a man held fast against immeasurable odds, but was slain. Blood flowed through the grass, through the soil, and into the water. He finally dropped me and I gasped for air. It was all too much and I wasn’t prepared for it. He turned from me walking to the edge of the stage.

“Enough of playing games. I am,”

“Ares,” I gasped.

“What?” he turned looking at me shocked.

“You’re Ares the God of War,” I swallowed.

“You figured it out?” he smirked.

“I saw it in your eyes. The death and destruction were horrible. I could feel it and see it. Your flame isn’t as bright as it used to be either,” I looked at him regaining myself.

“I didn’t show you any of that,” he said intrigued as he stepped closer.

“I’ve always had a wider perception than everyone else, but something about you made it do something it’s never done before,”

“Perhaps this isn’t as bad of a choice as I thought,”

“You keep talking about a choice and me, what is it you’re talking about?” I said getting up from the wall.

“You are the one the prophecy was talking about,” he said matter of factly.

“What? The awkward teen that gets the snot kicked out of her by Ares?”

“The prophecy that states you are the chosen one, you are Tyfin,”

“Tyfin? What is a Tyfin?” I asked confused again.

“Tyfin is a being that was supposed to be born something other than mortal, but was born a mortal by mistake. This mortal was to be found and read their birthright so that they could take their place as the defender of the mystics and mankind,” Ares boomed.

“How do you know it’s me? I mean I’m not exactly anything special here. Look at me for God’s sake! I have a bad heart that I’ve had ever since I was born. Hence the heart surgery when I was three and the whole reason I’m a year older than all of my classmates. I had to take pre-kindergarten and then re-take kindergarten because I missed it due to the surgery. Then of course there are my knees which like to dislocate on a regular basis. I’m in a leg brace and on crutches! Whatever makes you think that I can save the world?” I said exasperated.

“If it were up to me, it wouldn’t be you. However, I no choice in the matter, and the fact is you are Tyfin,”

“Stop dodging my question and answer me!” I yelled.

“That is why! Your spirit and perception are what brought us to you. Do you know why your body doesn’t work? It doesn’t work because it’s not the form you’re supposed to have. Your soul doesn’t read like anyone else or like any other being and creature that we’ve seen,”

“You’re saying that I’m the chosen one because my soul and my body don’t match?” I looked at him quizzically.

“If you want to simplify it, then yes, that is exactly why,”

“This is all a little too much,” I said putting a hand on my head to try and stop the room from spinning.

“Listen to me, and listen well because I am only going to say this once. You are the chosen one that has been prophesized about for centuries. Everything you think you know is wrong. Mystical creatures live among you and right under your very nose. Gods do exist, but are not as strong as they used to be. It is your job to fight for the human and mystic side in order to once again unite all the races as they were at the beginning of time bringing about Utopia. That is your task, your destiny, and you cannot escape it!”

Leave a Reply

