Nish’s Notepad: The Itch You Can’t Scratch

2 Jun

Post India’s first Comic Con, I read an awesome book, which admittedly I should have reviewed somewhere in February, but my apologies for being late people!

After 20th Feb, 2011 or Day 2 of the Comic Con, as some like to call it; the first graphic novel I read was “The Itch You Can’t Scratch”.

Story: Sumit Kumar
Art: Sumit Kumar
Cover: Amitabh Thakur
Title: Adhiraj Singh
Editor: Anant Singh

Now the question comes why only this? There are a couple of reasons for choosing TIYCS as the first one to read, but the main point which led me to start this heavy 178 pages comic is that it is a collection of different short stories.

Almost immediately my interest was captured when I saw familiar faces talking to each other in the initial pages of the comic – Jatin Verma, Pran, Adhiraj Singh and the man himself- Sumit Kumar. The next interesting thing to me was the language used : a mixture of hindi and English : Hinglish! This comic is an easy read and even easier to connect with because of the way it is written. It would seem as if you are listening to a close friend talking .

This story narrates the life of Sumit Kumar as he takes the reader through his eventful life, which more often than not are quite funny!. The issue I faced was that I could only relate to select few incidents as I am yet to come out of school and this book talks about college and adult life too.But it was nice reading about what I’ll go through in a few years. I just hope my experiences are less humorous and more mundane!

Now onto the story,the roller coaster life of Sumit is as interesting as girls find Justin Bieber. I liked the story, I liked the narration and I liked the CRAPPY yet suitable artwork. The BEST-EST-EST thing about the book is the title, and the connected end of the story (before future predictions; Page 118-125). I have so many personal favourites in this book, that I can write another book on it. I am trying to avoid spoilers here so that you can go out and buy the book yourself to read and relish. Suffice to say it’s a slice in life humorous take on Sumit’s life, and I am sure you would find glimpses of your own life as you read through Sumit’s. Some incidents will make you cringe, some would make you feel sheepish and some would make you laugh out loud!

I read it in 4 hours in one night flat and laughed my ass out. Dude, those 4 hours spent with coke and this comic were awesome. I had my 9th finals a few days after, so I wasn’t able to dissect it properly, but now I can speak about it on Comic Addicts!

After the enormous amount of praise for the story, let me come to the art. Although the art suited the story, but I expected more out of 350 bucks as the art is very very basic, somewhat cartoonish in not a good way. I am not deriding the art as it suited the story just fine, but just pointing out that if I pay 350 bucks for a comic book, i expect better art. If it had been 100 less, you’ll see TIYCS as popular as Wimpy Kid. I mean it is, but people prefer borrowing it rather than buying it.

Now for a special guest appearance, I have a little review from a friend, who is into comics, but not a comic addict like me-Arnav Singh.I loaned him this book and he came back with this:

Bhai, Mazza aa gaya ye book padhke. It was awesome, especially the GIRLS wala part :P.. Ahahahahahahahaha 😀


Nevertheless, Sumit Kumar’s comic autobiography despite his crappy yet suitable artwork is a must read. So if you can’t buy it ( hello 350 Rupees? ) borrow it .

Art: 2/5
Story: 4/5
Quality: 3/5
Overall: 3/5

Edited By Mayank Khurana 🙂

One Response to “Nish’s Notepad: The Itch You Can’t Scratch”

  1. Azsharael June 2, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Haha I loved this comic book. Nice review mate.

Leave a Reply

